The Department of Political Science at Rutgers University–Camden offers three awards to Political Science students. Each award, including eligibility and selection criteria, is listed below. Students who seek to be considered for each award should complete the following application. All applicants will also be considered for the Robert Packard Service Award. Award amounts will vary based on the resources available each year.

Applications for 2023 awards are due March 3, 2023.

Please indicate the awards for which you are applying on the application sheet (download and fill out the application here). Email completed applications to Sheila Diggs at


The Jack and Lenore Weiner Memorial Prize

The Department of Political Science presents up to four annual Weiner Awards to outstanding undergraduate students in Political Science. Jack Marvin Weiner graduated from Rutgers-Camden in 1955 with a major in Political Science. He completed his Law degree at Rutgers–Camden in 1958, and after passing the Bar, went into private practice in Camden. Awards in his name will be granted to students who demonstrate academic excellence in Political Science, including GPA, Honors achievement, and overall academic performance (in Political Science and across disciplines}. Students must be Political Science majors in their Junior or Senior years to be eligible for Weiner Awards.

2023 Awardees:   

  • Andrew Bongiovanni
  • Esmeralda Diaz-Calderon
  • Hailey Power
  • Melanie Veliz

The Robert Packard Service Award

The Robert Packard Service Award is presented to a graduating political science student who, in the estimation of the faculty, has contributed significantly to Rutgers-Camden and the outside community. Recipients will be selected by faculty rather than through an application process. This award is presented in memory of Robert D. Packard, Class of 1976.

2023 Awardee:  

  • Ana Dorvil

The Jacob Abraham and Mildred Amelia Baron Fund

The Department of Political Science presents annual Baron Fund awards to up to two undergraduate Juniors or first-semester Seniors to support student learning experiences such as individual research, conference participation, internships, and national or international travel. Awards will be granted to students based on their academic achievements, leadership ability and potential, and demonstration that the learning experience will promote intellectual growth and/or leadership development. Students must be Political Science majors with a 3.3 GPA or better to be eligible for Baron Fund awards.

2023 Awardees:  

  • Matthew Brodsky
  • Christian Devose
  • Isabelle Reyes-Pitock